ATEX Directive Definition – What is ATEX?

ATEX refers to two European Directives. The use of explosion protection equipment in a potentially hazardous area is something which is a requirement from both the user and supplier of the explosion proof equipment.

The European ATEX legislation therefore has two different ATEX Directives. One for the user and one for the supplier.

ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU – applies to the manufacturer/supplier of ATEX equipment

The ATEX 2014/34/EU Directive (previously 94/9/EC) is for industries that supply equipment into hazardous area, for example a forklift supplier or well service equipment supplier.

Equipment for operation in hazardous areas must comply with the requirements of ATEX 2014/34/EU Directive and be suitably protected.

ATEX equipment is built to a level of protection known as a category which matches the risk.

  • ATEX Category 2G for Zone 1 hazardous areas
  • ATEX Category 3G for Zone 2 hazardous areas
  • ATEX Category 2D for Zone 21 hazardous areas
  • ATEX Category 3D for Zone 22 hazardous areas

ATEX Directive 1999/92/EC – applies to the sites with hazardous areas

The ATEX 1999/92/EC Directive is for industries that operate with potentially explosive atmospheres, for example a chemical company. ATEX 1999/92/EC requires companies to manage the risk and the process safely. Companies should:

  • Prevent the formation of explosive atmospheres in the workplace OR
  • avoid the ignition of explosive atmospheres
  • Conduct a hazardous area risk assessment including the likelihood of explosive atmospheres and a source of ignition

ATEX Zone Classification, EPD and choosing ATEX Equipment

  • Sites (such as a chemical plant, waste management site, oil and gas etc…) should classify the workplaces into hazardous area Zones depending on the frequency and time that an explosive atmosphere is present in the form of gas, vapour, powder or dust. For example:
  • Mark areas with Ex signs at point of entry
  • Create and maintain an explosion protection document
  • Select ATEX 2014/34/EU certified equipment according to the intended hazardous area Zones

For more information about ATEX requirements or certification, clarity on the ATEX Directive definitions or to understand how the ATEX Directives affect you on site, contact Pyroban directly.

Diesel engine explosion protection for ATEX Zone 2 hazardous areas offshore

Cat® C18 diesel powerpacksDiesel engines are used in ATEX Zone 2 areas offshore to power temporary well service equipment such as Coiled Tubing Units, cementing units, air compressors and much more. Pyroban provides:

Explosion protection components

Pyroban manufactures a wide range of explosion proof (ATEX) components certified for use in hazardous areas.

Explosion protection for forklift trucks in ATEX hazardous areas

Explosion proof ATEX forklift at Grundon Waste ManagementWe offer explosion protection conversions for lift trucks, reach trucks, pallet and stacker trucks, VNA and pickers. Conversions take place at Pyroban in the UK.

Explosion protection for cranes, access platforms, scrubber driers…

For Cherry Pickers, scissor lifts, cranes, access platforms, scrubber driers, tractors and more, Pyroban provides ATEX certified conversions for use in Zone 1, 2, 21 and 22 hazardous areas.