fa fa-home
fa fa-globe


A Zone 1 area is classified as a place in which an explosive atmosphere consisting of a mixture with air or flammable substances in the form of gas, vapour or mist is likely to occur in normal operation occasionally.

These are typically process areas where gases are more likely to be present.

For Zone 1 applications, we use passive protection technology: Ex-tec 2G for electric materials handling equipment, and Euromech 2G for diesel equipment.

Pyroban are able to convert equipment to Zone 1 standards for use across the world. We are able to meet the following legal certifications:

  • ATEX – Europe
  • GB – China/li>
  • NEC - USA/li>
  • IECEx – International/li>

The use of explosion protection equipment in a potentially hazardous area is something which is a requirement from both the user and supplier of the Ex-proof equipment.

For example, European ATEX legislation has two different directives for the user and the supplier:

ATEX 1999/92/EC - For industries that operate with potentially explosive atmospheres

ATEX 1999/92/EC requires companies to manage the risk and the process safely. Companies should:

Prevent the formation of explosive atmospheres in the workplace OR avoid the ignition of explosive atmospheres Conduct a hazardous area risk assessment including the likelihood of explosive atmospheres and a source of ignition Classify the workplaces into hazardous area Zones depending on the frequency and time that an explosive atmosphere is present in the form of gas, vapour, powder or dust. For example:

  • Zone 1 (high risk gas/vapour)
  • Zone 2 (medium risk gas/vapour)
  • Zone 21 (high risk powder/dust)
  • Zone 22 (medium risk powder/dust)
  • Mark areas with signs at point of entry
  • Create and maintain an explosion protection document
  • Select ATEX 2014/34/EU compliant equipment according to the intended Zones

ATEX 2014/34/EU (previously 94/9/EC) - For industries that supply equipment into hazardous area

Equipment for operation in hazardous areas must comply with the requirements of ATEX 2014/34/EU Directive and be suitably protected.

Equipment is built to a level of protection known as a category which matches the risk. (Category 2G/Zone 1, Category 3G/Zone 2, Category 2D/Zone 21, Category 3D/Zone 22)